That book I always thought I would love…

But didn’t.

photo

How many of you had read ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ by Gaston Leroux? I finally got around to it after leaving it to gather dust after what seems like forever. Now don’t get me wrong I love ‘The Phantom of the Opera’. I’ve seen it a few times now, most recently in Edinburgh and who doesn’t go a little weak at the knees at Gerard Butler in that suit?! But the book? Unfortunately I find it disappointingly tedious. I think it was something to do with the melodramatic dialogue. It is really difficult to take an insult seriously when it consists of the word ‘humbug’.

But if you can see past that (I did with some effort), the author is really good at inventive twists and almost inexplicable twists, a lot of which have been left out of the show. The book itself is more of a detective tale but if you like that and slightly old fashioned speech, read it and let me know what you think.

Kelly x

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

