Trying something new #1

dads image

Yep you read that right. I am actually sticking to a resolution. Now I know it is still January and so I can’t count this one as a success just yet but I am going to anyway. Ya know making the most of it while it lasts and all that.

Last weekend, I went stargazing. I voluntarily spent time in the countryside (cue shocked gasps) on a Saturday night to freeze my butt off and look through a telescope. And I enjoyed it. If you’ve been reading for a while you’ll be well aware of my inherent nerdiness and it seems it is extending to astronomy. Though I might not know much about it, I was certainly excited to learn a little bit more about all these constellations I’m always reading about but never actually see for myself. I even saw Jupiter which is crazy and something I never thought I would do.

I am such a townie that my parents decided to ease me into country life by going to a stargazing event, where there were plenty of local astronomers who actually knew what they were talking about and were more than happy to impart some wisdom to us newbies. The one we attended was at Souter Lighthouse, which looks so lovely at night that I cannot wait to see it by sunlight. Or grey skies considering its the north.

So there you have it, my first ‘something new’. Or technically, my second since I went pottery painting right at the start of January. As fun as that was, my finished product was a) lacking all artistic talent and b) victim to our postal services. No amount of bubble wrap could save it from its cruel fate. And so we’ll file that under ‘try again next time’.

Kelly
x

P.S In the interests of full honesty, I didn’t take the picture in this post. My daddy did. He takes a lot of landscape photographs and I think we can both agree he is pretty darn good at it.

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

