REVIEW: 12 Years a Slave

ImageI know I’m not the first to rave about 12 Years a Slave and I’m pretty sure I won’t be the last. It is an oscar nominee after all. 

When Sam suggested we go to see it on Sunday evening, I admit I wasn’t overly bothered about seeing it. It looked good, admittedly, but I had no pressing need to see it,especially since cinema tickets don’t exactly mix well with trying to save. But I had a freebie from Christmas to cash in and I had heard good things about it so why not…

And boy did I underestimate this film. It was harrowing and beautiful. Everyone knows about slavery but most of us don’t exactly want to know just what happened. This film shows that humans have done some terrible things and doesn’t shy away from showing the depths of the cruelty that existed. There is some incredible acting talent in 12 Years a Slave, that’s for sure. Chiwetel Ejiofor, who played Solomon, the protagonist and Lupita Nyong’o, who played Patsey, were phenomenal. 

 

I think everyone should see this film. It is powerful, unbelievably so. And as cliched as it sounds, you will definitely walk away from that screen with far more thoughts and questions in your head. 

It’ll also put your thoughts into perspective. As much as house-hunting might be getting me down, it is difficult to worry about that when you see just what some people have gone through. 12 Years of Slave is based on a true story and I really want to read the novel Solomon released in 1853,detailing what he endured. In fact, its on my Amazon wishlist right now with a few other books that might just make their way onto my bookshelf when my spending ban is over.

Kelly x

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: 12 Years a Slave

  1. I’ve not seen this film yet but I’m desperate to see it. I agree with the commenter above that it’s something that you probably only ever see once (Schindler’s List is another such film!) but I think it HAS to be seen at some point x

    Like

    • I’ve never seen more than a few snippets of Schindler’s List but its on my must-see list. I think its so important that we don’t just skirt over these areas of history. x

      Like

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

