World Book Day

Two posts in two days? This is a rare occurrence so revel in it! But I simply couldn’t ignore the fact that today is World Book Day, which was my favourite day when I was a child. We always dressed up at primary school, then you’d get your voucher and get a whole new book for free. It was bookworm heaven which is probably why I still feel a nostalgic draw towards these days. I don’t think it is a surprise to readers that I looooove books.

I may no longer qualify for most of the events but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it so Happy World Book Day. Have a long bath and read your heart out. At the moment, I have a few books on the go or that I am looking at starting in the next week or two:
20140305_172528

(1) THE WAY YOU DO ANYTHING IS THE WAY YOU DO EVERYTHING – Suzanne Evans
This arrived in the mail yesterday and was a present from my lovely grandmother, who is a pretty cracking business woman over in the States. A flick through and a scanning of the contests suggests that this will be a very interesting read, even if it is not something I probably would have picked up by myself. I’m hoping to take a look over Spring Break and hoping some of the lessons will be applicable to blogging.

(2) GAME OF THRONES: A CLASH OF KINGS – George R.R. Martin
Ok, I admit it I’m obsessed with Game of Thrones so this one is purely for my own pleasure. Since I have been sleeping so badly lately, I’ve made a conscious effort to try and read a little bit every night to try and get my brain to switch out of university mode. I’m not sure long it will take me to read this (or the rest of the series) since I am literally reading twenty or so pages a night!

(3) FRANKENSTEIN – Mary Shelley
I’m revisiting this for class at the moment and really enjoying it again. Obviously last summer I read it for enjoyment so am having to make a conscious effort to notice all the little technical details this time round. Especially since I have to present on this on Monday…

(4) COMPLETE WORKS OF OSCAR WILDE
This is was one of my favourite christmas presents. If I’m stressed, upset or even just have a few spare minutes, I love being able to take in a short story or two of one of my favourite authors.

(5) THE ROSIE PROJECT – Graeme Simsion
Again, another I haven’t started yet. I won this in a competition over on Poppy’s blog but have been saving it for some guilt-free reading during Spring Break – I’m excited!

What about you? Anything you are currently reading?

Kelly

2 thoughts on “World Book Day

  1. Pingback: MARCH RECAP | Northern Roots

  2. Pingback: Review : The Rosie Project |

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

