Charity Ball.

In the interests of fair warning, a lot photos were taken this night. Although I’ll try and keep the number of selfies in this post to a minimum…
20140306_184838
I mentioned I was heading back to Darlington for the weekend in my last couple of posts but I don’t think I told you why. A few weeks ago I got a phone call from my mum asking if I would like to go to a ball with her. Of course I said yes. I mean pretty dresses and a visit home? It sounded ideal.
20140307_182514
However, it wasn’t just a chance to give my new shoes an outing, with the ball raising money for Children with Cancer which I think we can agree is a more than worthy cause. We also got to hear some stories from families who had dealt with the charity and unfortunately, the disease, which added a very personal touch to the night.
The ticket covered a champagne reception and 3 course meal, as well as a disco which we took full advantage. I’m sorry to say that thanks to Fiona’s words of temptation, I caved and had a glass of champagne and a couple of red wine.
IMG_20140307_192521
I know, I know I gave it up to lent. My mum suggested a compromise – I amend my resolution to giving up cocktails! Still a challenge, but maybe a little easier. I’m still going to dramatically reduce how much alcohol I drink but it seems I can’t reject a free glass of champers!
photo (5)
The food was nice, if a little small.

We started the night with a Parma Ham Salad…
20140307_202850
Followed by roast chicken…
20140307_205742
(Yep, that’s my mum’s plate…Mine didn’t stay around long enough to photograph!)

Finally we were treated to some yummy lemon posset, raspberry sorbet and popping candy!
20140307_213616

Of course, Rockcliffe Hall looked beautiful as always. If you have never need a glamorous venue, this is the place! In fact, the comment may have been ‘It’s so Gatsby’…20140307_195649
It definitely made for a very glamorous night out. Well, until the dancing started… The heels came off and I thoroughly embarrassed everyone with my lack of dancing ability. It was great.

20140307_194734

There was also an auction and raffle running throughout the night but I left empty-handed (which my bank balance is probably thankful for)!

All that’s left to do is say a massive thank you to everyone who helped organise the event and to my momma for inviting me and making the night so much fun.

Kelly x

2 thoughts on “Charity Ball.

  1. Pingback: 19 (Part 2) |

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

