Writes of Passage.

I first saw this post on Sensitivity and Flair and thought it would be really interesting to have a go. These are the books that are meant to have changed your life. I have always been fascinated by the lists of books everyone claims you should have read…even though I normally don’t score very well on them, which doesn’t bode well for me as a literature student does it?! To be fair, I have started a lot of them and have a lot on my to read pile…
books
So here we go:

Books that will…Scare You
The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
The Rats by James Herbert
The Shining by Stephen King
1984 by George Orwell
Lord Loss by Darren Shan
Score: 2/5.
That’s not much of a surprise. I don’t tend to pick up anything even remotely in the horror genre. I admit it, I’m a wuss.

Books that will…Teach You About Love
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Forever by Judy Blume
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
Score: 3/6.
But that’s with two halves…For the live of me, I can’t seem to finish Jane Eyre or Pride and Prejudice, though I have got about half way with both of them. And yes, I have read Twilight.

Books that will…Make You Laugh
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney
Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
Geek Girl by Holly Smale
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole aged 13 3/4 by Sue Townsend
Score: 3/6.
Not bad.

Books that will… Transport You
The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald
The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman
Percy Jackson (series) by Rick Riordan
Harry Potter (series) by J.K. Rowling
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein
Score: 5/6.
Technically I have only read the first one or two in the Percy Jackson series but I’m counting it anyway. Just Lord of the Rings left to go on this list.

Books that will… Change The Way You Think
Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman
A Streetcat Named Bob by James Bowen
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
The Curious Incident of the Dog in The Night-Time by Mark Haddon
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Wonder by R.J. Palacio
The Book Thief by Marcus Zusack
Score: 3.5/7
I’ve only read half of To Kill a Mockingbird but have every intention of reading it to the end soon. Noughts and Crosses and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time are among my favourite books.

Books that will… Make You Cry
Before I Die by Jenny Downham
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
War Horse by Michael Morpurgo
The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
My Sister’s Keeper by Jodie Picoult
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
Score: 4/7.
I’m pretty pleased with that. Both Of Mice and Men and The Kite Runner are books I would like to read at some point.

Books that will… Help You Understand You
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Score: 1/5
Ok, that one isn’t great. But my love for The Fault in Our Stars wins me some brownie points right?!

Books that will… Thrill You
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
Gone by Michael Grant
Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Score: 4/7
City of Bones, The Hunger Games, Rebecca andDivergent

Ultimate score: 25.5/50

Just over half! I can live with that.

How many of these have you read?

Kelly x

5 thoughts on “Writes of Passage.

  1. Good lists. I’d say about 10, with 1984 as the most eye-opening. Some, like Pride and Prejudice, I know via the movie version. For some reason, I never got around to the book.
    The Kite Runner wasn’t as amazing as I’d heard. Once the story moved from Afghanistan to the U.S., it didn’t have the same power for me. Still, an excellent story.
    Best,
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

