#nomakeupselfie

WIN_20140319_124559

Yesterday I posted this picture on my instagram and facebook with the following caption:
Here’s my #nomakeupselfie. Bonus addition of wet hair and glasses just because I love you. I just donated at http://www.cancerresearchuk/support-us/donate and would love if you could to, even if it is just a pound or two (I feel ya on the poor thing, I’m a student remember). #beatcancersooner..

As you have probably noticed, I am a fan of this campaign. So I’m a little confused why it is receiving such a negative press. What this ‘craze’ has done is brought an important issue to the forefront, brought in much needed donations and is honestly a bit of fun. Not bad for ‘just a picture’ and ‘narcissism disguised as charity’.

I admit that for me going war paint free wasn’t too much of an issue since I am essentially too lazy to wear it everyday but that’s not true for everyone. What I have seen going through the tag is a lot of brave people showing a side to themselves they usually hide away. I’ve even seen some very beautiful women showing off their breast cancer scars for the first time. And I am in no way ashamed to be a part of a campaign that empowers people in such a way.

A selfie is something everyone can do and most have also been able to donate even the smallest amount to a very worthy cause. How is that bad?

For a slightly more coherent argument, I really think you should check this post. I think it sums it up perfectly.

Kelly

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

