Bloggers do it better: Spring

So today is the day. The first of our blogging challenges. A post on anything we want so long as it falls in the category of ‘spring’. You know, the time when the sun makes it’s first appearances and you can finally put away your coat.

Unless you live in St Andrews. Then you get  hail, rain and wind allll year round. So while all the magazines are telling me to dress like this:

e2714296865467ae12cf4ae028a3679e

From Pinterest – click for original source.

I’m actually wearing things like this:

spring dressing

Thick tights, a leather jacket and a woollen snood hardly scream winter but sometimes a girl just wants to stay warm!

Now I’m probably the furthest thing from fashionable but I sure do devour magazines on the subject so I’ve learnt a lesson or two. The rest comes from the odd accidental flashing in a (rather lovely) skirt and freezing on a beach. But hey, my leather jacket is better than my wool coat and I didn’t sneak an extra cardigan under it either. Progress.

Spring is after all a transitional season so I don’t feel too guilty about holding on to my knitwear for just a little bit longer. The key is layering and not being drawn in by all the trends we’re bombarded with. Go for a slightly more covered floral dress (mine has 3/4 length sleeves – hurrah!) rather than a flimsy one that should come with a potentially-to-freeze warning.

As usual, I’ve been pinning away for spring dressing inspiration. I think I’m going to try and channel these before I try and mix storms with chiffon and pastels.

spring dressing 2

From Pinterest – click for original source.

From Pinterest - click for original source

From Pinterest – click for original source

 

From Pinterest - click for original source.

From Pinterest – click for original source.

Will you be sticking to the trends this spring? Or going for something a little more weather appropriate?

Kelly xx

P.S to check out how the other lovely bloggers in this challenge interpreted the theme, take a look at the hashtag #bloggersdoitbetter over on twitter!

4 thoughts on “Bloggers do it better: Spring

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

