London Photo Diary Part 1

For those of you that haven’t been stalking my social media, you might not know that I have just got back from a whirlwind visit to London.  I was lucky enough to be surprised with tickets for birthday so early on Tuesday morning, Sam, Rob and I hopped on the bus to escape the bubble. The first evening was fairly chilled and  I didn’t take my camera out with me so I don’t have much to report. 

But the other two days have resulted in a lot of snaps and a lot of exciting things so I will be splitting these in to a few posts that will last the week. 

five guys

I did get to try Five Guys, an american burger joint that I have been dying to sample but only seems to exist in London. As you can tell from the above photo, a lot of food was demolished, so much so that I entered into a bit of a food coma afterwards.

We then headed over to Punch and Judy in Covent Garden for a drink and a catch up . I l-o-v-e Covent Garden but haven’t been there in the evening. It looked so charming lit up and not filled with shoppers!

But things got really exciting the next morning when I woke up to  a surprise birthday breakfast.

birthday

I know, I know! My birthday was last month but when one of your best friends lives over 400 miles away you have to make an exception. Plus, I do love a glass of Buck’s Fizz on a morning…

After presents (including tickets to Fatal Attraction that evening!) and cake, we decided to head back into central London to see the sights. Rob had never been to London so we were determined to show him the wonders. It’s been a long time since I’ve done the ‘tourist-y’ parts of London so it was nice to see them again.

coffee

Of course, we started with coffee before heading to Buckingham Palace…

buckingham palace

…and Hyde Park, which might just be one of the most beautiful places in the city. It is also great for people watching, though the ducks do seem to fly perilously low to people’s heads. It was a good opportunity to try out my new camera, although I can’t take credit for all of these photos. hyde park

hyde park group

hyde park pelican

But after getting freaked out by the excessively large pelicans, we decided it was time to continue our job as tour guides and take in Westminster

westminster

westminster 1and Big Ben…

big ben

Could this be the most stereotypical image of London? Red double-decker bus? CHECK. Big ben? CHECK. London Eye? CHECK.

london eye

A quick glance at our watches told us that we would have to get a move on if we wanted to make the theatre, so we dashed over to Oxford Street for a spot of shopping (it HAD to be done, ok?!).

Which leads on nicely to the next instalment of this mini-series. I’m trying to not make these posts humongously long so have two more parts to go! Besides, going through holiday snaps is so much better than unpacking and re-entering the real world of revision and nightmare travel agencies who have terrible service… but that is a rant for another time and place I think.

Kelly x

 

One thought on “London Photo Diary Part 1

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

