#bloggersdoitbetter COLLECTIONS

This was a funny old prompt for me and I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to answer it. I spent days scrawling ideas onto pieces of paper before hastily discarding them.

And then I realised that the problem wasn’t that I had nothing to write about.  Oh no, I have many, many ‘collections’.  Ask anyone who has spent any length of time with me and they will tell you that I probably have too much stuff. I’m a bit of a hoarder you see.

It all started when I was little. When I was a child, I would collect erasers. Everywhere I went, I would buy a novelty or touristy rubber until I had filled a very large box with them. I had a hundred or so of the things, never EVER used but growing in numbers very quickly.  It was a nice reminder of all the places I had been and they were cheap enough to buy that I didn’t feel like I was wasting away my precious pocket money. Every now and then I would take them out and recall all those visits I’d made and a little smile would form on my face.

I don’t collect them anymore but that doesn’t mean I have any less stuff. In fact, my latest collection is postcards and notecards, either from places I’ve been or that were so pretty they didn’t need an excuse. I would have loved to have shared that with you guys because there are some gems in there but they are all tucked away in a storage container in Scotland, along with a good proportion of my stuff *sobs*.



WIN_20140423_201641

That doesn’t mean my bedroom back at home is empty – oh no! It’s full of pretty notebooks (^these are my staples – a diary, a post it book and a blogging notebook) and a hefty proportion of my books.
DSCN0640

 

Once I decide I like an author, I seem to decide that I simply have to everything they have ever written.My parents fuelled this by giving me the works of Oscar Wilde this Christmas and Edgar Allan Poe the year before. I’m slowly working my way through them but I doubt I’ll finish these any time soon. Not pictured is the selection of Atwood that I am slowly building. 

DSCN0641

In an attempt to read more literary classics, I picked up this collection of children’s books at a local charity shop. Added bonus for matching covers for  making my shelves look more organised than they actually are.

To conclude? I probably should have called this post ‘Confessions of a hoarder’ and might have to slow this habit before my room is inhabitable. It seemed that ‘collections’ was a more revealing post than I could have imagined.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who possibly has more stuff than they should?!

Kelly xx

6 thoughts on “#bloggersdoitbetter COLLECTIONS

  1. I know how you feel. I’m a bit of a hoarder too and I have SO many postcards that I’ve just kept as souvenirs, I don’t even remotely want to send them to anyone. And as far as books go, I’m lucky to have people around me who give them to me as presents and my TBR keeps growing!

    Like

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

