Review: Paper Towns

paper towns

Quentin Jacobson has always loved Margo from afar. So when she climbs through his window to summon him on an all-night road trip of revenge he cannot help but follow. But the next morning, Q turns up at school and Margo doesn’t. She’s left clues to he disappearance, like a trail of breadcrumbs for Q to follow. 

And everything leads to one unavoidable question: Who is the real Margo?

I’m the first to admit that even though I cried at The Fault in Our Stars, I thought it was a very comical read – yep despite the whole cancer being a primary part of it.

So when I picked up Paper Towns I was expecting something along those lines. Kind of fun, kind of sad but still firmly part of the YA genre. To my surprise, Paper Towns turned out to be a lot darker than expected. It started in the expected way, with pranks and unrequited love but add in a missing person and some death and the book definitely took a turn I wasn’t expecting.

The more John Green I read, the more I fall in love with his work. True, it is a touch dramatic (we have all seen the ‘it’s a metaphor’ spoofs) but it is also beautiful. He just seems to capture human emotion so perfectly.

That is probably why I ending up loving Paper Towns, even though it ended up being a different novel from the one I was expecting to read.

So one question remains John Green fans: which shall I read next?

Kelly x

3 thoughts on “Review: Paper Towns

  1. Pingback: July 2014 |

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

