REVIEW: The Maze Runner

maze runner

I’m not really sure how this book ended up in my Amazon basket but I’m really glad it did.  I’ve heard a couple of things about it and knew there was a trailer for a big screen version somewhere on the internet but was pleasantly surprised by how much The Maze Runner surpassed my expectations.

It focuses on a group of boys who find themselves alone in a glade on the edge of a giant maze, which not only changes every night but also houses any number of hidden horrors. Every day the community send out ‘runners’ to try and crack the maze and hopefully find a way back to the lives they can’t remember.

It’s imaginative, tense and really quite clever.

Of course, there are comparisons to The Hunger Games but that doesn’t mean they’re the same. Like Collins’ book , these children are in a desperate situation but the hints we have been given about what is to come are making me really excited about what twists and turns await in The Maze Runner universe.

And with a couple of months left to get excited before the film is released, I think I might just put the sequels in my Amazon basket.

Kelly x

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Maze Runner

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

