Second Year: The Essentials.

Second Year.

It’s a little more serious than first year, but nowhere near as challenging as honours. You’ve worked out which societies you actually want to be involved in but can’t resist trying a couple of new ones, just because. You’re expected to know university pretty well by now but still find yourself lost when you suddenly have a tutorial in a completely new part of town.

It requires a little more organisation than last year and it’s no longer possible to make it to your lectures half asleep and scramble through your bag looking for a pen and a scrap of paper.

Luckily, the lovely people at Viking offered to send me a couple of pieces to help with my ‘back to school’ shopping and yes, that is still a thing at nineteen.

DSCN2187I’ve been using their products for a few weeks of classes now and I’m still in love with them. They arrived quickly and simply, they work brilliantly and they look all nice and purdy. It’s also made it a lot easier for me to tell what I actually need to study, rather than hoarding pointless amounts of stationary that I haven’t used since my GCSE’s -yay for clear outs!

First up, the planner*. I cannot stress how important this is. Without it, I would be wandering aimlessly around town missing appointments and lectures and forgetting reading assignments. It’s also handy for keeping an eye on which shifts I’ve been working so I can have a rough idea about what I’m going to be getting paid at the end of the month.

DSCN2193This time round I avoided a cute design (which I inevitably get bored of within two months) and picked up a Filofax and it may just be the best decision I have ever made. It’s compact and professional looking and I can add in whichever pages I need. Oh and it makes me feel really grown up.

Next up are the notebooks. I have three of these – one for every subject so that I don’t get my Chaucer and Cicero mixed up. I also swear by highlighters and coloured sticky tabs for making things easily recognisable. I’ve finally clocked that I am way more of a visual learner than an auditory one so try to keep things colourful.

And finally, would this be a Northern Roots post if I didn’t mention my love of tea at least once. I swear I’m never without a cup when I’m studying!

Kelly x

What are your work/ study essentials?

 

3 thoughts on “Second Year: The Essentials.

  1. Pingback: Deadlines. |

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

