Gratitude.

Happy Thanksgiving!

I know, I know, I’m not American but since I live with two americans and count many more amongst my friends, you can bet I’ll be taking part in the Thanksgiving celebrations here in St Andrews.

It also seemed like the perfect time to show a little gratitude. After a hectic couple of weeks, I’ve been astounded by the support shown to me and it’s made me realise that there are a lot of people I should be sending a Thank You card to.

november round up
I’m grateful for housemates who bring you tea and toast when you’re feeling ill and are always willing to support my slightly crazed ideas, whether that is a brand new recipe or party theme.

I’m grateful for my friends who are endlessly supportive. Thank you for reminding me that there is nothing that cannot be fixed with a hug and a bottle of prosecco.

I’m grateful for my family who are just as endlessly supportive if not more so about my decisions and are always there if something doesn’t quite go to plan. They are the perfect safety net for new house problems and shelved plans all at once. I would also like to say thank you for raising me to be as independent as I am. I know it seemed like a pain when I was 13 and not quite sure how to wear that confidence but believe me it’s the perfect companion in this almost-grown-up world.

I’m grateful that I get to spend my days in this beautiful old university. Not only do I get to indulge my childhood dream of being a full-blown student who spends many an hour surrounded by books, but I’m constantly astounded by those around me. Artists, writers, academics, politicians, activists…you name it, they’re all in this tiny little seaside town. Being around people who are at the top of their field (or who I know will be post-graduation) makes for an incredibly inspiring environment that I am eternally grateful for.

And last but not least?

I’m grateful for getting older. For learning more about myself and my limits. For learning which comfort zones were meant to be tested and which aren’t. I’m grateful that rooms of new people are no longer the scariest thing in the world even if they still cause my stomach to do backflips. I’m grateful that I get to experience hundreds of new things year after year and that I am given so many amazing opportunities. I’m grateful that I’ve worked out that it isn’t cheating or quitting to walk away from the things that are hurting you. I’m grateful that I now know that the word no isn’t the end of the world, that you don’t have to agree to everything just because. I’m grateful that I still have  new foods to try, new places to visit and new books to read. I’m grateful that I get a little corner of the internet that is so quintessentially me, that grows as I do. I’m grateful that all these journeys are nowhere near over.

What are you grateful for?

Kelly x

 

Got something to say? Leave me a comment and I'll get back to you as soon as I can!

